Jean-Louis Toutain

Sculpture as sumptuous fulness

Toutain Toulousain

Born in Toulouse in 1948, Jean Louis TOUTAIN was attracted from very young age by drawing, painting and modeling. He entered the Beaux at age of 14. For three years, he took courses in ceramics and decoration. In the day he worked as a ceramist apprentice. He paints, drafts, sculpts and works in the most diverse environments, advertising, industry, theatre, interior architecture, ergonomics, printing, toy design. He accumulates experiences, reaps knowledge, tests techniques and materials.

First of all, Sculptor

At 40, he felt the need to build his own world. Above all, he will be a sculptor. He follows a successful artist’s journey: the uncertain years lead to national and international recognition, exhibitions and prizes of which the greatest value for Toutain is to attest to the recognition of his talent by the public. Because of his youthful ideals, he always preferred the street to the museum and the wonder of a child to the official rewards.

Consécration

Even though it was a great pleasure to be in France, like France’s best worker medal in 1991 for its sculptural and decorative work. Today, Toutain has reached a sumptuous fulness which never, however, has abolished that part of fertile uneasiness which alone makes it possible to advance, and thanks to which it touches us always. His works are present in numerous private and public collections, in France and abroad.

([last updated])
Share the art of Jean Louis Toutain on:

Pin It on Pinterest

Jean-Louis Toutain

la Sculpture comme somptueuse plénitude

Toutain Toulousain

Né à Toulouse en 1948, Jean Louis TOUTAIN est attiré dès son plus jeune âge par le dessin, la peinture, le modelage. Il entre aux Beaux à 14 ans. Pendant trois ans, il suit des cours de céramique et décoration. Dans la journée, il travaille comme apprenti céramiste. Il peint, il dessine, il sculpte et travaille dans les milieux les plus divers, publicité, industrie, théâtre, architecture intérieure, ergonomie, imprimerie, design de jouets Il accumule les expériences, engrange les connaissances, expérimente les techniques et les matériaux.

Sculpteur avant tout

À 40 ans, il sent la nécessité de construire son propre univers. Il sera avant tout sculpteur. Il suit un parcours d’artiste heureux : les années incertaines débouchent sur une reconnaissance nationale et internationale, des expositions et des prix dont la plus grande valeur, pour Toutain, est d’attester la reconnaissance de son talent par le public. Car, fidèle à ses idéaux de jeunesse, il préfère toujours la rue au musée et l’émerveillement d’un enfant aux récompenses officielles.

Consécration

Même si elles lui font grand plaisir, comme la médaille de meilleur ouvrier de France obtenue en 1991 pour son œuvre sculpturale et décorative. Cette consécration lui permettra d’aborder de nouveaux domaines, notamment celui des sculptures publiques. Aujourd’hui, Toutain a atteint une somptueuse plénitude qui jamais, pourtant, n’a aboli cette part d’inquiétude féconde qui seule permet d’avancer, et grâce à laquelle il nous touche toujours. Ses œuvres sont présentes dans de nombreuses collections privées et publiques, en France et à l’étranger.

([last updated])
Partagez l’oeuvre de Jean Louis Toutain sur :

Pin It on Pinterest